Each chapter’s a learning experience

People enter your life for different reasons. Some are meant to be around forever, while some make an appearance for a short period of time. Yet each and every one are a part of your journey, your story.

And when each chapter ends, there’s a bit of sadness mixed with the excitement of a new chapter beginning.

Today was a reminder of that.

In the fall, I met a man who made me smile and feel loved, special and safe all at once. He was the first man in years who actually made an attempt to get to know me, and that was nice. In the beginning of our fun, he got into a spot of trouble (DWI) and with my still-asleep brain, I drove to Wilmington to bail him out. It was a poor decision in hindsight, but it’s not one I regret because lessons were learned.

Long story short, this man and I did not work out. After nearly two months of silence, we opted to get a friend of his to take over his bond. It would help us both: I wouldn’t need to worry and I’d be out of his life per his current female’s request.

Tonight I met the man at a gas station at N.C. 24 and Bell Fork Road and we headed to Wilmington with a friend of his. Two cars, three people, one mission. And it was successful. The bond is no longer my responsibility if something goes wrong, and for that I am grateful.

But what amazed me more than everything today is that I feel no bitterness. I’m sad that this man with a smile that brightens the room is no longer a part of my life, even as a friend, but I’m glad to have the weight off my shoulders.

I’m glad he showed me it was OK to take my walls down, that I deserved more than I settled for on multiple occasions, and that I was capable of falling for someone again.

I wish him happiness in his life and his relationship. And I hope that he manages to stay out of trouble tonight while he and his friend enjoy Wilmington.

Because, while I have no hard feelings, I will never, ever bond someone out again. Ever.

About Amanda Humphrey

I'm 34 years old, living in coastal N.C., and on the journey of motherhood with my husband who was dumb enough to marry me seven years ago. I thank God for that bad decision every day :)
This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment