A different type of running

I’ve spent what seems like years running. Running away from emotions, commitment, a broken heart or two. Running to work during just about every one of those runs.

This time we’re trying something a little different.

Actual honest to God running!

Clearly this isn't me.

Monday night, I went for my first run in preparation of an April 22 5K. And I nearly died. Seriously, had our planned route been any longer I probably would’ve started to pray for God to take me then and there because I was hurting.

Of course, I’d also ate Tony’s pizza and a giant fudge brownie that night, so that’s probably a good bit of it. On top of the part where I hadn’t ran in a decade.

Tonight I went for run No. 2 and, while I still did some walking, it went better. In fact, despite the parts where I could barely breathe, my shins were on fire and I was sweating like a pig, I found I actually like the entire concept of running.

I like that I can feel my muscles burning since that means I’m doing something. I like that I can feel each step in my midsection since then I don’t feel as bad about skipping my crunches. I like that my arms are moving and that I didn’t accidentally throw my cell phone onto the sidewalk since it was serving as my MP3 player.

And I like that I have something to work toward now that I’m so close to my weightloss goal. I’m only 2.5 pounds away from the 30 pound loss mark that I want so badly, and I was worried that I’d lose my motivation.

But now I have at least another month’s worth, and then it’ll be bikini season and we all know beach loving women stay motivated that time of year.

Especially when it’s the first summer EVER they’ll get to wear a skanky bikini and *feel* awesome in it.

About Amanda Humphrey

I'm 34 years old, living in coastal N.C., and on the journey of motherhood with my husband who was dumb enough to marry me seven years ago. I thank God for that bad decision every day :)
This entry was posted in life, weightloss. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment