Check ’em off, Prince Charming

After a recent discussion with a guy friend, it’s been determined I need to make a list of qualifications for any future men who will have a role in my life. So, in hopes of preventing any future idiots who require a bond, here we go.

Courtesy of fanpop.com

My ideal Prince Charming….

1. Must be able to hold a conversation. I don’t mean asking “what are you doing” and having me reply. I mean an actual honest-to-God conversation, complete with intelligence.

2. Needs to be able to stand up to me. I don’t mean be an abusive jackass, but I’m a strongwilled woman as anyone who’s dealt with me regularly can attest to, and I get incredibly bored with men who just give me what I want or shake their heads regularly.

3. Is willing to go out for a night of shooting pool, dinner, whatever, but is OK with staying in and reading or watching a movie instead. I’m a homebody who has the occasional wild hair, I like to be a bum.

4. Understands that while many women my age come with children, I come with an incredibly determined husky. While I appreciate the offers to train him, I’d prefer my man just love him.

5. Be educated. I don’t want an ignorant man. I learn a lot of random stuff at work, and I want to be able to *discuss* it (see No. 1). And, frankly, I don’t want to be able to outsmart or manipulate you, Charming.

6. I am vain enough to say that I don’t deal with ugly people (Sorry, God, I know that’s not good but…), so in the world of vanity: please be decently built (not scrawny but not all muscle. Enough muscle I feel safe but enough cushion that I’m comfy snuggling), tattooed (I like ’em inked, or at least not judgmental about mine) and have a handsome face with eyes I want to look into.

7. No crotchrockets. I’m all for a good motorcycle, but please go the Harley or chopper route as I’d prefer you cruise rather than drive like a jackass like most of those I see on crotchrockets.

8. Understand that my time is valuable. Do not leave me waiting. If you say you’re going to call, do it. If you say you’ll pick me up at 8, be there at 7:59 and at my door at 8. Running late? Tell me. There is *nothing* I hate more than waiting for someone who doesn’t value my time enough to not waste it.

9. Know that I won’t do my hair and make up more often than I will, but when I do put the time into getting ready to see you, you should feel special.

10. Make me smile. At the end of the day, if I’ve smiled more than I haven’t, I’m a happy girl.

And those, guys and girls, are the highlights.

About Amanda Humphrey

I'm 34 years old, living in coastal N.C., and on the journey of motherhood with my husband who was dumb enough to marry me seven years ago. I thank God for that bad decision every day :)
This entry was posted in life, lists. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment