College flashbacks and a few realizations

It’s funny, growing up I figured that becoming the person I wanted to be would be incredibly easy. Hell, a year ago I thought it would be easy. And six months ago, for that matter.

But this journey is like going back to college with all the note taking I’m doing.

Tonight my goal was to get six miles in on my stationary bike and, since I have a problem sitting still, I figured I’d combine efforts: Enter Joyce Meyer’s “The Confident Woman.”

I managed to read a chapter or two of it while peddling my heart out, with a highlighter in hand.

And I had flashbacks to while I was at UNC Pembroke and my roommate would con me into going to the on campus gym, inevitably on a night when I had a test the next day, to burn off some of what we drank in recent nights. Note: Had I gone with her more often, I probably wouldn’t have ended up as big as I did.

It is incredibly hard to balance peddling, reading, highlighting and getting the water bottle to your mouth. In fact, I’m willing to bet my heart rate monitor would’ve picked up an increased rate at the points when I was trying to balance all of those.

But it’s so worth it.

Every day I feel like I’m learning something new, about myself and the journey I am on and the ones I want to take in the future.

In fact, I’m kinda thinking this may be the journey that never ends. Which I’m totally OK with.

About Amanda Humphrey

I'm 34 years old, living in coastal N.C., and on the journey of motherhood with my husband who was dumb enough to marry me seven years ago. I thank God for that bad decision every day :)
This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment